The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality was established on 5 December 2000 when the following local authorities which had previously served the greater Pretoria and surrounding areas were integrated.

The following local authorities were amalgamated:
  • The Greater Pretoria Metropolitan Council
  • The City Council of Pretoria
  • The Town Council of Centurion
  • The Northern Pretoria Metropolitan Substructure
  • The Hammanskraal Local Area Committee
  • The Eastern Gauteng Services Council
  • The Pienaarsrivier Transitional Representative Council
  • The Crocodile River Transitional Council
  • The Western Gauteng Services Council
  • The Winterveld Transitional Representative Council
  • The Temba Transitional Representative Council
  • The Mabopane Transitional Representative Council
  • The Ga-Rankuwa Transitional Representative Council
  • The Eastern District Council
The City of Tshwane is the second largest municipality in Gauteng and is among the six biggest metropolitan municipalities in South Africa. The following towns and townships form part of the Municipality's area: Pretoria, Centurion, Akasia, Soshanguve, Mabopane, Atteridgeville, Ga-Rankuwa, Winterveld, Hammanskraal, Temba, Pienaarsrivier, Crocodile River and Mamelodi.Pretoria, as one components of Tshwane, is the administrative capital of South Africa and houses the Union Buildings. Government plays an important role in Tshwane's economy, but there are many other sectors that are doing extremely well. In fact, the city has adapted to globalisation remarkably well and has all the elements of a smart city. Tshwane has positioned itself as Africa's leading capital city of excellence.
The city -
  • is the centre of government with all the national government departments being located here;
  • forms part of the Gauteng global region, the wealthiest and fasted growing economic region on the African continent;
  • houses the embassies of all the countries of the world;
  • has a population of two million people and the highest level of education in the country; and
  • is a national centre of research and learning with four universities and seven of the eight national science councils, ie the CSIR (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research), the HSRC (Human Sciences Research Council), the ARC (Agricultural Research Council), the NRF (National Research Foundation), the MRI (Medical Research Institute), the VRI (Veterinary Research Institute) and the SABS (South African Bureau of Standards).
The main economic sectors in the Municipality's area are community service followed by finance and manufacturing.

The largest sub-sector within manufacturing is metal products, machinery and household appliances, followed by the manufacturing of transport equipment.

All the major banks and financial services institutions have offices in Tshwane.
Tshwane is steeped in a rich cultural heritage intertwined with the South African history. For many turbulent decades, Tshwane has played a key role in the political history of South Africa.

It was appropriate, therefore, that the liberation struggle culminated in the birth of our democracy at the Union Buildings.

The eyes of an ecstatic world were on the city on 10 May 1994 when the people's president, Nelson Mandela, was inaugurated as South Africa's first democratically elected president.