City of Tshwane - Igniting excellence The City of Tshwane is the single largest metropolitan municipality in the country and the third largest city in the world in terms of land mass, after New York and Yokohama, Tokyo.

Tshwane comprises an area of 6 298.4 km², seven regions, 105 wards, and has 210 councillors and about 2,5 million residents. Tshwane is divided into seven regions, namely the North West, North East, Central, Southern, Nokeng tsa Taemane, Eastern and Kungwini regions.
The City of Tshwane has always been revered for its clean, spacious suburbs, which provide access to a wealth of schools, universities, hospitals, recreational facilities and some of the best shopping in South Africa.

For culture and entertainment, the City counts amongst its assets the finest facilities in the country, from the majestic State Theatre to the hallowed grounds of Loftus Versveld – for many, the heart of rugby in South Africa. Residents of Tshwane have this and so much more – including the country's best weather.

The City's mandate is to deliver efficient, effective and affordable services to the people of the city of Tshwane through a developmental system of efficient, effective local government. We strive to deliver core services optimally to meet the needs of residents, as well as businesses operating within the City, and visitors to Tshwane.

The City of Tshwane's obligations to our residents include, among others:
  • a pollution-free environment;
  • clean services like water and sanitation, education; and
  • safety and security.
These, and many more, are outlined in the Services categories, as well as in relevant legislation pertaining to the residential arena.

For the well-being of all residents, our resident's obligations to the City include observing relevant legislations. To make life enjoyable for all who live here, City legislation covers a variety of topics, including:
  • noise pollution;
  • animal control;
  • pollution;
  • business legislation;
  • where and what type of business can be operated from where; and
  • health and much more.
Areas constituting the City of Tshwane

The City of Tshwane (CoT) is a result of 13 former local authorities in the greater Pretoria metropolitan area being integrated into one unicity.

The borders of this huge municipal area extend for almost 60 kilometres east/west and 70 kilometres north/south and include the following areas: Centurion, Crocodile River, Pretoria, Akasia, Soshanguve, Ga-Rankuwa, Mabopane, Winterveldt, Temba, Hammanskraal, Mamelodi and Atteridgeville.

The municipal area has 76 municipal wards